Quick & Easy Weeknight Dinner – Steak-Frites for 2

I am always struggling to figure out my Tuesday dinner at right about noon on Tuesday. I wish I was better about planning ahead (Michele Conrad – you are an inspiration http://conradweeklydinners.wordpress.com), but most of the time, it’s a last-minute deal. I like to keep dinner to 30 minutes or less of prep/cook time so I can actually enjoy Oliver before it’s time for bed.

I should mention that I love steak. Loooooove it. It’s a go-to when I don’t have much time as it is so quick and easy to make, not to mention delicious. On the menu for this evening (extras of everything for leftovers, except French fries, because who wants to eat those the next night?):

steak frite me              steak frites oliver

Pan Fried New York Steak – I got 2 12oz New York Steaks

  • Heat 1 tablespoon of the butter a little olive oil in a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat until the butter almost smokes.
  • Place the steaks in the pan and lower the heat to medium.
  • Sauté the steaks for 4 minutes on 1 side and then for 3 minutes on the other side, for medium rare.
  • Remove the steak to a serving platter and cover tightly with aluminum foil. Let them rest for 10 minutes.

WP_20131001_001

Sautéed Mushrooms – I like the pre-sliced guys to save a little time and got 2 packages.  I throw them in a pan on medium heat with some butter or olive oil, with a healthy dose of S & P.

green beans

 

 

Steamed Green Beans – I love buying them with the ends cut off from my neighborhood grocery store, Ken’s Market. It’s SUCH a time saver and I don’t care if they cost a little more. I once had a conversation about whether I would cut off the ends of green beans as my full-time job for a year for $1M. I just don’t think that I could do it, that’s how much I don’t like cutting the ends off of green beans. Well, maaaaaybe…

French Fries – I love the frozen Alexia Organic Yukon Select Fries (they need a little extra salt) and surprise, surprise, so does the little dude.  For frozen fries, these are pretty darn tasty!

How I do the timing, timing is everything!  When I get home from work, I take the steaks out of the fridge, season with salt and pepper and leave them out for about 30-45 minutes so they come to room temperature (this technically makes the prep time more than 30 minutes, but I do it before I go to Pilates, so I’m ready to go when I get back). Preheat the oven for the fries at this time (they take the longest of the menu to cook, 28 minutes). When you’re ready to go, heat the pans up for the steak and mushrooms and cook at the same time. When the steak is finished and resting, use a steamer insert in a pot and steam the green beans – this takes about 10 minutes. I know steaming is a little boring, but I really do like the way green beans taste with nothing on them and Oliver eats them too, so I’ll save my fat and calories for the French fries!

4 thoughts on “Quick & Easy Weeknight Dinner – Steak-Frites for 2

  1. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite (Kitchen) Things | Here's What Works

Leave a Reply

