Tuscan Lemon Chicken

If you live in Seattle, it appears summer has left the building. Before it is totally gone and with Labor Day weekend coming up, I wanted to share my favorite grilled chicken recipe of the summer. Backing up a little, I wasn’t always the master griller I am today. Four short months ago I had never operated a grill on my own and was completely intimidated. I thought this was a guy job. I don’t currently have one of those. I decided it was about time to change my status – my grilling status. For Mother’s Day, my parents got me a Weber grill and it has been the best gift ever! I grill everything now! Steaks, chicken, lots of hotdogs for Oliver, veggies, salmon. Obsessed.

My first grilling project was Ina’s Tuscan Lemon Chicken. It is so delicious. I’ve probably made it six times this summer and it is just really good. I have made this a few ways, a whole chicken flattened as is in the recipe or cut up into eight pieces. The latter is the easier method and much less mess. 

Tuscan Lemon Chicken – courtesy of Ina Garten

Ingredients

  • 1 (3.5 – 4.5lb) chicken, cut into 8 pieces – the butcher will do this for you. I also cut breasts in half so the pieces are more uniformly sized
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup good olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon zest (2 lemons)
  • 1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic (3 cloves)
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary leaves
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 lemon, halved

Preparation

Sprinkle the chicken with 1 teaspoon salt on each side. Combine the olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, rosemary, and 2 teaspoons pepper in a small measuring cup. Place the chicken in a ceramic or glass dish (or a large ziploc bag) just large enough to hold it flat. Pour the lemon marinade over the chicken, turning it in the dish. Cover the dish and refrigerate for at least 4 hours or overnight. Turn the chicken 2 or 3 times while marinating.

When ready to grill, turn heat to medium. Place the chicken on the cooler side, skin side up. Cook for 8 – 10 minutes, depending on the size of the pieces, until the underside is golden brown. Turn the chicken skin side down and cook for another 8 – 10 minutes, until the skin is golden brown and the chicken is cooked through. The breasts always take the longest, just watch everything so it’s not over/under cooked. Place the lemon halves on the cool side of the grill, cut side down for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Remove the chicken to a plate or cutting board, cover with aluminum foil, and allow to rest for 5 minutes. Cut in quarters, sprinkle with salt, and serve with the grilled lemon halves.

If you’re having a bbq this weekend, make it! I promise you’ll love.

tuscan chicken 2

Leave a Reply

