ClassPass, you just get me

My name is Lynne and I’m a workout-aholic. As I mentioned in “How many gym memberships does one person need”, you know I like to mix things up. The problem has been the cost to maintain all of these different memberships, which has been running me around $280 per month.

Enter ClassPass. What is ClassPass, you ask? “ClassPass is an alternative to a gym membership. You get access to the best boutique fitness classes in your city. For $99 a month, ClassPass members get unlimited classes to use at studios in the ClassPass network. While a member can take as many classes per month as they’d like, they can visit the same studio up to 3 times per monthly membership cycle.”

Sidebar, does it seem like there is a new business like every day designed to make life easier? Instacart, Munchery, Postmates, just to name a few. I love them all. Does that make me smart or lazy? Hmm…

I digress, back to ClassPass. There are currently 66 studios in the Seattle area that participate in ClassPass, including most of my faves. You can hit Orangetheory Fitness, CorePower Yoga, Bar Method, Flywheel Sports and Inspire. The only place that’s missing for me is PureBarre. This is legit people. Le-git. The rub is that you can only go to the same studio 3 times in a month, as mentioned above, so this might not work as your main membership, but is a sweet deal for a secondary plan that lets you try tons of different workouts. I am keeping my Orange Theory unlimited membership for $129 per month, but can now add supplemental workouts one or two days a week at one of these other sweet places.

If I go to a ClassPass class 6 times per month, which seems completely realistic, the cost per class is $16.50 per class. This is well below what I am paying at CorePower Yoga and PureBarre currently. I can also justify two workouts per day (I know, but the workout-aholic thing is in high gear right now) and get my ass back to Inspire, which I have missed so much!

I signed up on Monday, got a $100 Lululemon gift card for Cyber Monday (um, free money at Lululemon, yes please) and have been to two classes through ClassPass this week (Inspire and CorePower Yoga). My monthly spend is going from $280 down to $228. Hey, every little bit counts and that totals $600 per year.

If you like your workouts the way I do, I think you are an idiot to not try this. OK, my work is done for today. Once again, you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

