Spice Things Up

My spices have been giving me mild anxiety for some time. I had them semi-organized on a lazy Susan, which fit almost all, but the setup wasn’t ideal. I also had a growing number of bags with bulk spices, which were sometimes labeled and sometimes not. It was messy and I had a hard time keeping inventory of what I had and what I needed. On the topic of bulk spices, I have been leaning this way in the past few years. They are fresher, more cost effective, and you don’t end up having to buy a jar of something when you only need a little bit. My other big complaint with my spices in the store bought containers is that when I cook, I can’t fit a tablespoon or a teaspoon in to measure out what I need. So I end up having to tap it out of the bigger dispenser and 1) make a mess and 2) waste some. Over it.

I also need to preface this post by saying that I am not crafty. At all. I’m not good at it and don’t enjoy it. But, I can manage a little DIY project to get my shit in order and make it nice and pretty. I took a little trip over to Pinterest for some inspiration and found exactly what I was looking for. Super easy!

I clicked on over to Amazon and $55 later, I’m all ready to get my spices organized. I bought three items:

  1. Quilted Jelly Canning Jar 4 Oz (Pack of 12) – $15.66 (I bought two packs)

Quilted Canning Jar - 4oz

2. Chalkboard small labels (48 count) with chalk marker – $14.95

Chalkboard Labels and Chalk Pen

3.  3-Tier Cabinet Organizer – $7.99

3 Tier Cabinet Organizer

This took me about 30 minutes to get set up. I went through all of my spices and got rid of a few that were well past expiration. I love purging! I washed out the jars with soapy warm water, consolidated my spices, made the labels and voilá! Organized spices in airtight containers. Ahhhhh…I feel so much better. Cheap therapy if you ask me.

2 thoughts on “Spice Things Up

Leave a Reply

