How many gym memberships does one person need?

I remember the days when I had a gym membership. At one gym. A typical workout would include the elliptical or treadmill, perhaps a class. I remember when my gym started charging extra for these classes, which was annoying, but I paid up anyway. I am pretty sure the monthly dues were less than $100. That seems like a long, long time ago.

Currently, I am straddling 3 different “fitness studio” memberships. That’s the correct term, I believe. They are certainly not gyms, no way, I think that’s probably an insult. And they are rampant, popping up all over the place. I can count 10 that have opened in the past 2 years, in Queen Anne and Ballard alone. It reminds me a little of the 90’s bagel craze, but way less carbs.

My current rotation: CorePower Yoga, Pure Barre, and the newly opened Orangetheory Fitness. I am taking a hiatus from the Pilates/Barre studio I have been at for the past 3 years, Inspire, which I blogged about last year and love, just trying to mix it up a little. These 3 memberships cost me around $280 per month and I exercise 5-6 days per week.

How it breaks out:

Orangetheory FitnessOrangetheory Fitness – I just tried this place last week and am totally digging it. Super challenging, but doable. It’s a mixture of cardio:  treadmill (like running at an 8% incline for 2 minutes, so hard) and rowing machine (all out for 1 minute intervals, so hard), combined with blocks of strength training (think TRX, weights, burpees). “The idea of Orangetheory is simple: a 60-minute workout designed to push you into the Orange Zone. This creates ‘Excess Post-Exercise Oxygen Consumption,’ or EPOC. It’s what burns calories after your workout and gives you noticeable, lasting results.” Burning calories after my workout. Likey.

The cost is $129 per month for unlimited sessions. This is going to be my main workout. Goal – 3-4 days per week.

  • Pros – best pricing I’ve seen for an unlimited membership. Excellent cardio.
  • Cons – not a ton of feedback on form when you’re doing the weight blocks, which is hard when I’m doing new stuff. I want to make sure I’m doing it right. Also, no locker room if you need to shower after. One small room with a shower, but I wouldn’t want to be the one to commandeer that space for 15 minutes.

Corepower YogaCorePower Yoga – I love this place. Looooove it. I have literally never sweated more in a workout and I walk out feeling amazing and completely energized. I am obsessed with their Sculpt classes. “A total body workout, CorePower Yoga Sculpt classes are set to energizing music and designed to tone and sculpt every major muscle group. This class complements your regular yoga practice, while boosting your metabolism and pushing your strength and flexibility to new heights. Free weights are added to the CorePower Yoga 2 sequence, creating resistance and intensifying each pose. Strength-training exercises are incorporated to build lean muscle mass. Class is heated (92 – 95 degrees) with little added humidity.”

The cost is $175 for 10 classes. Goal – 1 day per week.

  • Pros – Gorgeous studio, full locker room with showers. This twist on the typical heated yoga class, with added weights and cardio, is a winning combo for me. Plus, we get shavasana at the end; corpse pose is the best.
  • Cons – The Sculpt class is the only one I take at CPY, so the unlimited membership at $139 per month is just not for me. $17 per class is a little pricey. I also wish they offered more Sculpt class times.

pure barrePure Barre – I bought a 10 pack on special for $140 and I am really liking it. It is deceptively hard. I’m not really sweating, but whatever part of my body we’re working is on fire. Shaking. There are lots of barre options these days and I like this solution to fill the gap of tightening and toning areas like my abs, thighs, arms and of course, ass.

The standard cost $200 for $10 classes (ouch). Goal – 1 day per week.

  • Pros – Convenient and a great supplemental workout to the higher impact CPY and OTF classes. There are tons of instructors, which keep the workouts fresh.
  • Cons – Price. Unlimited membership is $225 per month. As much as I like Pure Barre, I don’t want it to be my main workout. No locker room, just a small changing area. Oh, and they don’t have water to fill up your bottle, you have to purchase water. Lame.

So, now you see how I am paying a small fortune on workouts and having to use my project management skills just to get them all scheduled in a week. But seriously, I love all of the options out there to get yourself in shape these days. It may not be a one stop shop, but it’s fun to mix up your routine and do completely different workouts.

OK 5 lbs, I’m really trying here. Work with me!

 

3 thoughts on “How many gym memberships does one person need?

  1. Pingback: ClassPass, you just get me | Here's What Works

Leave a Reply

