Click. Dinner. Done.

You know how much I love to cook. I do. I really, really do. Except when I don’t. Which is usually a weeknight when I’m getting home from work at 5:30 and want to enjoy a little time with my guy without slaving away in the kitchen cooking and cleaning. There are so many options these days when you don’t want to cook, making dinner easier via prepared meal delivery, ingredient delivery, etc.

I tried Blue Apron a few weeks back, my friend Nelle gave me a coupon for a free week. Blue Apron is a really cool concept: fresh ingredients and recipes for 3 meals, delivered right to your door. What I loved: everything came in the perfectly portioned size for your recipe. 1 stick of celery, 1 little bottle of soy sauce. It was adorable. What I didn’t love: out of the 3 recipes, I liked 1. The patty melt and green bean salad was a total winner, but not one Oliver would eat. The other 2 meals, Roadside Noodles and Cajun Chicken Gumbo, were both bland and unimpressive, despite fresh, flavorful ingredients – and a lot of prep work. I decided to discontinue my subscription after seeing the menu for the following few weeks, which would have been $59.95/week – it breaks out to $9.95 per person per meal. You have some flexibility on meals selection based on your preferences (vegetarian, beef, fish, etc.), but if I’m the one doing the actual chopping, preparation and cleanup, I want to have full decision making authority and creative control over the menu.

Patty Melt Dinner
Patty Melt Dinner
Roadside Noodle Dinner
Roadside Noodle Dinner

 

Enter Munchery. Munchery has been all over Facebook lately and in a pinch for last night’s dinner, I decided to use the $10 off coupon and give it a try. It’s a pretty great business model with lots of good buzz words that make you like them off the bat, like local, sustainable, donating 1:1, eco-friendly, handmade daily.

Munchery

I had a hard time deciding what to order for myself, there was a bunch that looked delish. I settled on the Slow-Roasted Roast Beef with grilled summer tomatoes and pesto potatoes ($9.95), Sicilian Roasted Cauliflower ($6.95) and for Oliver, they had 1 kids entrée option, the Honey Mustard Meatloaf ($5.95).

Below pics are courtesy of Munchery’s website, obv.

I picked my window of arrival (between 4-5pm) and placed my order. Note, it was like noon, so you don’t need to plan out. So easy! Total cost of the meal with my $10 coupon and $2.95 delivery charge was $17. There is no way I get out of the grocery store planning dinner for Oliver and I for $17. The delivery was seamless, I received a text before it was delivered and a call as it was being delivered. I heated all of it in the oven for about 12 minutes, because food tastes better that way, plus I feel less like I’m serving a TV dinner. I was really impressed. So much so that I ordered it again tonight. Fantastic.

Oliver didn’t love the meatloaf (his loss, I had it for lunch today), but he ate the potatoes and maybe I separated the peas/corn into separate bites so he would eat them. He likes them both, but won’t eat them together. Ding cuckoo! The dictator gets his mom to do some crazy things so he eats.

Oliver's Munchery

I give Munchery 5 stars (for prepared delivery dinner). Check it out! Use this link to get $10 off your first order.

https://munchery.com/invite/73GEFD46

Leave a Reply

