Kale Salad Perfection

I know, I’m losing credibility because every salad I make is like the best salad ever. But this one is no joke. I have made it 3 times in the past 2 week, so easy, gets rave reviews. Part of what I loved about this recipe was discovering the method used for de-stemming and slicing the kale. It’s not life changing, but close. Seriously, thanks to Jackie of Marin Mama Cooks for the kale prep tutorial. My blog totally loves and admires your blog.

Kale Salad

Lacinato Kale Salad, courtesy of Marin Mama Cooks

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch lacinato/dinosaur kale, de-stemmed and thinly sliced
  • 3 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3 large cloves garlic, minced
  • pinch of fine sea salt
  • pinch of freshly ground pepper
  • pinch of red pepper flakes, to taste
  • 2/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese – I used a bit less

Directions (you gots to check out her pics to follow this properly)

1) To de-stem the kale as well as cut it into thin strips:

  • Grab a stalk of freshly washed and dried kale, holding it by the stem with one hand while placing the pointer or middle finger and thumb of your other hand around the stem just above the leaves. Pull your fingers along the stem, tearing the leaves off.
  • Here is how to cut your kale into thin strips. You can also use this technique for any sort of lettuce and herbs. Take the kale leaves and lay them on top of one another and then roll them up tightly.

2) Whisk together lemon juice, olive oil, garlic, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes in a small bowl.

3) Pour the dressing over the kale and make sure to massage it well so that all the kale absorbs the dressing. When I say, “massage” your kale, I literally mean, get your hands in there and massage it.

4) After your kale is well tossed, add the parmesan cheese and toss again. Let the salad rest in the refrigerator for at least an hour.

Bonus, it tastes just as good the next day, not soggy at all.

I just have to say, today’s post is one of the reasons I love blogging. Yes, I love blogging because of a goddamned good kale salad. I discovered Marin Mama Cooks through my friend Michele’s blog and now I am sharing with all of you! Happy Monday folks.

2 thoughts on “Kale Salad Perfection

Leave a Reply

