The Best Kind of Anniversary

Duuuuuh. The Nordstrom Anniversary Sale, of course! For lots of people, myself included, this is the shopping event of the year. I mean, what’s not to like. They bring in new fall merchandise and take 33% off. If you don’t like to save money, by all means, skip it. For me, it’s the perfect time to refresh my basics like bras and undies, but also a great time to throw down for a pair of Frye booties or my favorite Paige denim. Nordstrom changed the sale a few years ago so that there is now a weeklong presale, open to Nordstrom card holders only. Then begins the sale for the common folk. If you don’t get there early enough, the selection is definitely not the same. Seriously, if you don’t have a Nordstrom card, get one, this sale makes it worth it.

I took a half day on July 10 and hit Bellevue Square with my friend Leslie. This is serious business for me. A lot of ground to cover in 4 hours. I am still editing things down, I did some massive damage. It’s not easy, I tell you. #onepercentproblems. If you haven’t shopped it yet, what the funk are you waiting for? Prices go up August 4th! Sharing a few of my faves below:

Jackets – I am a total whore for good outerwear, as you’ve seen in the Spring Coat Obsession post. I picked up 2 little beauties on this sale, and 1 is a direct knockoff of the Vince Scuba Jacket ($995 – never gonna happen) I included in the other post. I am thrilled with my new Trouve leather moto jacket, and for $199. Um, yeah, sold. (FYI – Trouve is a Nordstrom in-house brand, this is where you can get the best deals.) The other jacket was a Rag & Bone Canvas Military Jacket, love it. I’d show you a pic, but it’s already sold out. See, I told you…

Sweaters – I cleaned up on sweaters this year. Lately, the strangest thing has been happening at Nordstrom. Point of View is calling my name. Is it because I’m turning 40 in 2 years? Not sure, but I can’t walk by that department without seeing something I really like (I try to balance it out by my refusal to let go of BP). Another in-house brand is Halogen and I was blown away by the sub $100 pricing on tons of gorgeous cashmere, tons of colors and styles. I picked up the High/Low Cashmere V-Neck Tunic in navy ($98.90) and 2 of the Solid Cashmere Sweater ($84.90) in grey and camel heather.

Shoes – The sale is about boots, boots, more boots, and booties. Tons of fantastic tall boots if you need a pair, but I am still way into booties. I cannot wait to wear my new Frye Patty Leather Riding Bootie in redwood ($218) with some skinny jeans and one of my new Halogen sweaters. I. Love. Fall.

Those are my highlights. I also got a few more things…

And oh yeah, I also got some great fall stuff for Oliver. He cleaned up too.

If you haven’t shopped it yet, get on it! If you can’t get into a store, shop it up online. If you don’t, that’s cool, you’re just crazy. Literally.

PS – Brilliant marketing.

2 thoughts on “The Best Kind of Anniversary

Leave a Reply

