Rob Lowe Fever

If we are FB friends, you know I am in the midst of a Rob Lowe revival. A few weeks ago, I posted an excerpt from his newest book, Love Life, in which he talks about sending his oldest son off to college. It was poignant and well written and I totally cried. This brought forth a Rob Lowe reawakening in me. I have loved this guy for about 20 years. I mean, I do not believe there is a male specimen more gorgeous, but I have also come to love him as an actor. Plus he’s aged like nobody’s business. In college, I remember Farrah and I in our room at Pi Phi’s watching About Last Night many, many times. Sure, I liked St. Elmo’s Fire, but About Last Night is far and away the best Rob Lowe movie, and one of the my fave all time movies. I just watched again last night, still love (currently streaming on Netflix).

About Last Night1  About Last Night2

About Last Night3  About Last Night4

If you know me, you know that when I get into something, I’m all in. Felicity was last year. 2 very enjoyable weeks reacquainting myself with my friends at UNY and rekindling my love of Ben. Parenthood was this year. Can Julia and Joel just get back together already?! Right now, clearly, it’s Rob Lowe on the brain. This week, I read (devoured) his first memoir, Stories I Only Tell My Friends in about 3 days (which has also driven me to finally watching The West Wing). Easy read, thoroughly enjoyable. You can’t not like this guy after you read his book. He is self deprecating, funny, not an asshole, a great husband and father, an all around fantastic person, who just happens to have some of the best stories about his past.

For example, he went to high school in Malibu with Emilio Estevez, Charlie Sheen, Robert Downey Jr. and Sean Penn. That’s pretty crazy. His first movie was The Outsiders, where he worked with Francis Ford Coppola, Tom Cruise, Emilio Estevez, Patrick Swayze at age 19 and shot on location in Louisiana for a few months. This was one of my favorite stories in the book. Fascinating business!

He dated so many famous ladies too (Melissa Gilbert, Demi Moore, Princess Stephanie of Monaco). He got into his trouble with the underage girls in the video scandal and ended up in rehab, but now he’s been sober for 25 years, married to his wife for 23 years and has 2 sons whom he adores and is a very active and involved dad. He is most definitely not the typical Hollywood actor. He has ended up have a pretty decent acting career, while being a great family man. Rob Lowe is a total stud. In every way.

I’m now about halfway through his second book, also loving it. He has a refreshing attitude, is open and honest about his career and his past, and has lead a life that I, for one, can’t seem to read enough about. If you’re looking for a new book, pick up one of his. And please, do yourself a favor and check out About Last Night if you missed it 20 years ago.

One more pic of Rob, just for good measure. Seriously, could he be more handsome?

Rob Lowe

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

