Salad Obsession – Jamie Oliver’s Everyday Green Chop

I had my cousin Hillary and her fiancé John over for dinner on Sunday and spent Saturday night watching Game of Thrones and flipping through cookbooks to menu plan. I love reading cookbooks. I had honestly forgotten how much. I get so programmed to look at blogs or the Food Network or Epicurious that I forget about my good ole cookbooks. I was perusing Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution and The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. I ended up selecting recipes from both, but the clear winner at dinner was the Everyday Green Chopped Salad. I think I am going to need to eat this salad at least once weekly for the forseeable future. So. fricking. good. It’s the perfect combination of crunch and vinegar and avocado.

Everyday Green Chopped Salad – courtesy of Jamie Oliver

Ingredients

  • 1 head butter lettuce
  • 2 avocados, diced
  • 4 green onions (both white and green parts)
  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled and sliced
  • handful basil, sliced
  • freshly shaved parmesan
  • 3T olive oil
  • 1T red wine vinegar
  • 1t Dijon mustard
  • salt & pepper

Directions

  • Wash and roughly chop lettuce and put in a large bowl
  • After you’ve cut up the green onions, cucumber, basil, put them together and roughly chop up some more
  • Toss with the lettuce and coat well with dressing
  • Finish with fresh shaved parmesan

Serves 4

Total Cook Time – 20 minutes

This salad is perfect to serve with a lighter dinner, like halibut or salmon. Definitely worthy of guests. I served with Jamie Oliver’s Crunchy Garlic Chicken, Sauteed Asparagus, and Smitten Kitchen’s Roasted Potato and Carrot Coins.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

