Game of Thrones – I’m In, But I Don’t Totally Get It

I have been bingeing on Game of Thrones for the past few weeks (in the middle of season 3) and as much as I really like it, which I do, sometimes I just do not follow the plotlines. And there are many. And they are complicated. And there are a lot of characters. With elaborate names. I am fairly intelligent and no stranger to episodic television, but I’ve realized that I am watching this show the way I sometimes skim a book. I take enough in to get me by and totally enjoy it, but I just don’t always know exactly what’s going on.

What I do know:

Anyone can die. No one is safe. I don’t really understand why people get up in arms when someone spoils who dies. It’s not a surprise. Main characters die on this show. Ned Stark got his head put on a spike in season 1 (oops, I guess that was a spoiler). Anyone is fair game. Oh, and there are books, so it’s not really a secret.

Daenerys and DrogoDaenerysDaenerys Targaryen/Khaleesi (Emilia Clarke) is like the prettiest person ever. And she’s a total badass. Sure, she started out getting basically raped by her hot Dothraki husband Drogo, then falls in love with him, then becomes the mother of dragons. Literally, baby dragons. You just can’t think too hard about all of this, you just have to go with it.

Tyrion

 

The only likable Lannister is Tyrion. I love him! He’s definitely one of the best characters on the show. Cersei is a great character, terrible person. Joffrey is the worst. Jamie I have mixed feelings about. Maybe that’s because he’s really hot.

Robb Stark

 

Robb Stark is even hotter than Jamie Lannister. The Starks are my faves. I love Robb Stark.

White Walkers

Even GoT has zombies (white walkers). And giants. And dragons. And sorcerers and sorceresses.

 

This is one of the most violent shows I have ever watched. Ever. Lots of heads getting cut off, even babies getting murdered. It’s all swords and stabbing and heads on spikes and blood. You definitely have to go with the violence. The pay off with the big fight scenes is amazing.

All in all, I am totally digging Game of Thrones and can’t wait to know what happens next (I already know about the Red Wedding). Do I have any desire to go out and read the books? No. But I love how different this is than anything else I am watching. You can’t not be entertained, even if you don’t totally understand every political alliance and plot line or remember who each character is/what family they are from. It is just, plain, excellent television. If you haven’t watched it, give it a try.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

