Lindsay

One of my favorite blogs is Love and Knuckles. Kate, the blogger (and my blog hero), is a fantastic writer, witty and hilarious and mean, but in the best possible way. She posted a Daily Beast article today, “‘Mean Girls’ Turns 10: Why the Modern Classic is Still So Fetch”. How perfect as I totally owed you a post on Lindsay’s new show. To this day (and I cannot believe it has been 10 years), I love this movie. I loved Lindsay Lohan in this movie (and Rachel McAdams and Tina Fey and, and, and). I frankly loved Lindsay Lohan in everything from the Parent Trap to this. Who didn’t?

Now, she’s a full fledged trainwreck. I have been watching her 8 part docuseries, which debuted in March on OWN, and although it does give me massive anxiety, I have to keep watching. The show starts right after she leaves rehab in Malibu and follows her through a move to NYC. This girl is literally sabotaging her career right in front of the camera and I don’t know how she comes back after the documentary. Her behavior is so erratic, she has limited opportunities these days and she just blows them off. Mind boggling.

When I first started watching, I thought, OK, she’s not an idiot like Britney Spears, she’s actually intelligent, maybe I’ll like her. Well, she may not be an idiot, but she’s 100% delusional and in denial about the state of the union. It’s impossible to like her. She is up her own ass so far about being an amazing actress and her agents not fighting for her. Linds needs to take a hard look in the mirror, if she can see past those gigantic, restalyn filled lips, to see who she is now.

Her parents are disasters, both of them, so I guess it’s not rocket science that she turned out this way, especially in conjunction with her Hollywood lifestyle. I thought I was going to want to root for her. I don’t. Not in her current state. It’s really, really sad.

Here’s my point. TV is slim pickins right now. This is on demand. You should watch it. Troubling, but fascinating business.

 

 

One thought on “Lindsay

Leave a Reply

