Easy Weeknight Dinner – Crunchy Parmesan Chicken Tenders

How do you guys feel about the end of support for Windows XP? Do you want to hear my thoughts on getting people to migrate to Windows 8? Oh, wait, you don’t care about that because it’s not interesting. At all. Well, actually it is to me, but that’s because I’m a geek. And it’s my job. Right now, that’s what’s taking up my head space. That and when will I be able to stop stressing about my new house/move?! I haven’t had a ton of time to cook, but decided I needed to make something last night and found this little beauty of a recipe. This dinner took 30 minutes from start to finish.

I am a huge fan of parmesan chicken strips, I’ve tried several recipes. This one was new to me, but super easy and delish, the difference was coating the chicken in buttermilk and letting it sit. I served with sautéed asparagus and roasted kale – I am trying to do 2 veggies instead of 1 veggie and 1 starch, at least sometimes. I made 2lbs of the chicken tenders, thinking Oliver would love it. He ate one bite. Now I have 1.5lbs of chicken to get through in 2 days. Anyone want to come for dinner? I’m serving leftovers! I have been thinking of creative ways to use and think it would make for a really good kale chicken Caesar salad. I think I’ll do that for dinner tomorrow.

Crunchy Parmesan Chicken Tenders

modified slightly from Giada De Laurentiis recipe

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup  buttermilk
  • 1 1/2 pounds chicken tenders (about 18)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/4 cups freshly grated  Parmesan
  • 3/4 cup Panko

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees F.
  2. Brush 1 tablespoon of oil over each of 2 heavy large lined baking sheets. Place the buttermilk in a large bowl. Add the chicken tenders and stir to coat. Let stand at least 15 minutes and up to 30 minutes.
  3. Stir the Parmesan and bread crumbs, S & P in a pie dish. Remove the chicken tenders from the buttermilk and dredge them in the bread crumb mixture to coat completely, pressing to adhere. Arrange the coated chicken tenders on the baking sheets, I used parchment paper to cover the sheets, spacing evenly. Drizzle the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil over the chicken tenders and bake until they are cooked through and golden brown, about 12 minutes.
  4. Transfer the chicken tenders to a platter and serve.

Leave a Reply

