Bingeworthy TV

I have been so uninspired to blog lately! I hate forcing a post, I like it when they just have to be written. Nothing like that in the past few weeks. Work, new house, not sleeping very well due to details of house equals one tired, uninspired gal. Here’s one of the things that has been keeping me going. No joke. Shameless on Showtime. It is entertaining and crazy, but so outlandish that it doesn’t stress me out. Parenthood, on the other hand, no can do right now! Yeah, I’ll pass on watching Joel & Julia’s heartbreaking separation and painful, tearful conversation with their kids about daddy moving out, thanks anyway!

Without further ado, I present my list of bingeworthy TV from the past few years. If you have as much time as I do to devote to this worthy cause, I’m giving you some grade-A beef. Note, this list is certainly not representative of all of my TV (duh!). This is literally a list of shows I have binged on via instant streaming over the past few years and loved.

Shameless – not available on Netflix instant streaming or Amazon Prime. I had to watch on-demand as a Showtime subscriber. William H. Macy and Emmy Rossum head up the cast, but the supporting Gallagher family members you will come to love. And Joan Cusack? She is amazing. 4 seasons.

Damages – Glenn Close and Rose Byrne. Lawyer show. Plot mostly contained per season. Lots of twists. Fantastic. 5 seasons.

Suits – Harvey. Spector. Enough said. Add in lots of witty banter, great movie references, another solid laywer show. 3 seasons.

Parenthood – I’ve talked about Parenthood ad nauseam. The Bravermans make for emotional, relatable TV, blah, blah blah. Watch it. 5 seasons.

Homeland – I mean, do I really need to give you a reason to watch the best CIA show around with some of the best acting and writing out there!? 3 seasons.

Dexter – Although the final season was a little bit shark jumpy, this show was addictive and kept me entertained the entire time. I love Michael C. Hall. Hot stuff. 8 seasons.

Felicity – True story, I watched all 4 seasons of Felicity last year in the span of 3 weeks. Personal record. This was one of the best when it came out in the late 90’s and I wanted to see if it held up. 100%. I would argue this is one of the best shows of all time (Jen, you may be the only person other than JJ Abrams to agree). I laughed, I cried. Ben is just so lovable (and hot), and so is Noel for that matter! If there is one show I would like to insert myself into, this is it, I just know that Keri Russell and I would be friends. #felicitydelusion

Orange is the New Black – I’ve talked about this a few times, how much more convincing do you need? If you have Netflix, you have to watch it. 1 season.

House of Cards – Ditto to above. 1 season (with season 2 about to premiere).

Scandal – It took me a few eps to get into this guy. It can be a little cheesy and I’m just not used to watching network TV. It’s different. But Kerry Washington and her wardrobe, both insanely beautiful, plus her chemistry with Fitz, make the show worth watching. 3 seasons.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

