‘Tis the Party Season

It’s Holiday Party time! I hosted a little shindig on Saturday and it was such a blast. My friend Nicole and I combined our Pi Phi Christmas Parties and had gals from PC93 though PC97 (translation – ladies were ranging between ages 34 – 38). We ended up with about 15 people, everyone brought a bottle and a wrapped gift ($20 max) for a gift exchange. I hadn’t seen some of these faces since college and it was a delight to catch up! This is a tradition that we plan to continue and grow, so special to get together with a fabulous and lovely group of ladies.

The Menu:

Cocktail

Food

  • Baked Cauliflower Dip (Heather Christo Cooks)
  • Artichoke Dip
  • Meat & Cheese platter
  • Crudites & Ranch
  • Kale & Brussels Sprout Salad – (Bon Appetit) – NOTE – I subbed whole toasted hazelnuts, delish. I would dress the salad the night before and then redress again before serving as the kale/Brussels are so dense and soak up the dressing. The salad is fricking solid. So good, everyone wanted the recipe. It may have taken me 40 minutes to hand slice the sprouts thin enough, but worth it.
  • Baked Chicken Meatballs & Peperonata (Smitten Kitchen adapted from Gourmet) – NOTE – I made the peperonata and at the genius suggestion of my friend Nelle (check out her fabulous cooking blog www.nellebee.com), I pureed it and served along side the meatballs as a dip. I also forgot to take a picture of the finished product (boo!), but I took a pic from SK’s website so you get the idea.
  • Rum Cake
  • Arrow Cookie (a Pi Phi tradition)

All in all, such a great day. This is what the holidays are about, getting together with friends, eating and drinking and being merry! I hope everyone is enjoying their holiday season with a few get togethers as delightful as this!

 

Leave a Reply

