I Heart NY

My sentiment may be unoriginal, but it’s just the plain truth. I have been lucky enough to have friends in NYC for the past 15 years, which has always given me a reason to go and a place to stay. This has been the best way to experience the city – lots of little visits, shopping, eating, walking, drinking my way through the neighborhoods and simply taking it all in.This past weekend’s getaway might be one of my favorites yet. The trips have evolved from staying in various apartments in the West Village in our 20’s to Brooklyn Heights now. One of my oldest and dearest friends from college, Clare, and her family live in a lovely building in Brooklyn Heights, facing downtown Manhattan. I love Brooklyn Heights. Brownstones galore, diverse and interesting young families, and space to move! The restaurants are just as good, schools are fantastic, Manhattan is a quick (depending on traffic, that is) car ride away. If I lived in NY (a girl can dream), no brainer, it’s where I’d be. Don’t get me wrong, I loooooove going into the city and we did each day, but it was nice to escape back to Brooklyn at the end of the day.

WP_20131207_00920131207180959
Manhattan view from Brooklyn Heights with my lovely host Clare

Thursday night – dinner with our friend Beth at Colonie in Brooklyn Heights. A quick walk from Clare’s place, cozy comfort food. We sat at the bar and ate cheese and crackers, Brussels sprouts, cauliflower, Monkfish, and Hanger steak, but the highlight was spaghetti squash with pancetta, egg and parm. So, so delish. I have also really been into spicy margaritas since my Mexico trip, and Colonie served a Grapefruit chili version with habanero-infused tequila, Cointreau, fresh ruby red grapefruit and lime juice and agave. Refreshing and tasty!

Friday – lunch at one of my fave Brooklyn Heights spots, Iris Café. This is one of the places that introduced me to Avocado toast last year and inspired my Eggs & Avocado toast breakfast routine. I obv had to had the toast, plus a sandwich to boot.

Friday Night – We got prettied up for Friday night with a blowout, although the shitty rain was threatening to ruin them! One of the best ways to treat yourself is to get your hair done, by someone else. It is so relaxing and feels like heaven, plus you walk out with awesome hair.

We hit the West Village for dinner, to a spot neither of us had tried, the Beatrice Inn, (same owners as the Waverly Inn, which I have always wanted to check out). Reviews have not been kind, but I thought it was fabulous, everything we ate was really good. Burrata on toast with sautéed mushrooms, kale salad with figs, milk braised pork shoulder with hen of the woods mushrooms, (amazing), seared scallops, roasted carrots and Brussels sprouts. And lots (and lots) of drinks. It was still so awful outside that we ended up sitting at the bar after dinner rather than venturing out in the rain. We had a few more cocktails, enough to fuel a dance party back at Clare’s, including some slow dances, and a video performance of me singing and dancing to Katy Perry’s “Teenage Dream”, which will never be seen. By anyone. Ever.

Saturday – I will admit, I was hurting after Friday night. It didn’t feel good to sit in the cab going into the city and get dropped off in the sea of people in Times Square. We don’t normally come here (not since the days when I insisted on going to see TRL being taped from the street), but I haven’t been to a show in a few visits. We got tickets to First Date, starring the adorable Zachari Levi. Our seats were perfect, the show was fantastic, although sadly closing in January. It was about a first blind date, so funny and relevant. Loved it. We were lucky enough to get to stay for a small Q&A with the cast post show. And I even got that cute guy to sign my playbill afterwards.

Saturday Night – dinner at Gran Electrica in the DUMBO neighborhood of Brooklyn, so cute. The food was fantastic. Fresh cevice, guacamole, Carne Asada and black beans. Yum. It was the perfect end to our day. Wait, scratch that. The perfect end to our day was Saturday Night Live. I need to back up by saying that it is one of my ultimate dreams in life to see a taping of SNL. I have a few connections, I tried them, nothing panned out. The closest we got was being in Rockefeller Center earlier that day. It was so painful to be in NYC with just about the BEST POSSIBLE CAST OF A SHOW, EVER. Kristen Wiig made an appearance and opened the show as Doonese, with the baby hands. Anchorman 2 costars Will Ferrell and Steve Carrell joined host Paul Rudd (couldn’t love him more. not possible). And the musical guest was One Direction. Crying. But at least I got to watch with my bf, who may be the only person who appreciated it as much as I did.

All in all, one of the best trips I have had in a long time. I laughed so hard, ate and drank so well, and felt so loved! Thank you Clare for being the best hostess and friend!

Leave a Reply

