Holiday Gift Giving for Normal People

Sorry for the absence! I’ve been a little…distracted…but I’m back and thanks to some inspiration from one of my fave pals and most loyal followers, Damiana Smith, I give you today’s post, Holiday Gift Giving for Normal People. I realize “normal” is a bit subjective, but I’m thinking of it in terms of not on Gwyneth Paltrow’s aspirational, out of touch, Goop gift giving list. Generally, these are gifts under $300.

Hard to believe, but the first night of Hanukkah is next week, on Thanksgiving! And Christmas is a mere four weeks away. It’s time to start thinking about who’s getting what and I hope my little list helps a bit! And please, please do me the favor of checking for coupons, there will be so many with Black Friday and holiday sales! Save yourself a little bit ‘o cash and use it towards yourself!

Nespresso Citiz
Nespresso Citiz

Nespresso Citiz Espresso Maker ($187) – All Nespresso machines are 25% off on both Williams-Sonoma and Crate & Barrel  right now, a great time to buy. The Citiz model I purchased doesn’t come with a milk frother, this is straight Espresso/Americano, but for me, it’s perfect as I like black coffee. There are several models out there with frothers if you’re into Lattes/Cappuccino. I am very particular about my coffee and think Nespresso pods taste pretty darn fantastic! I get the purple Arpeggio pods, which are a 9 out of 10 intensity. I order the pods from Nespresso directly at $.65/pod, but they come in one day, super easy. Making a cup of coffee in one minute is just preferable to brewing a pot, especially when it tastes this good. Now that I have one, I can’t imagine not!

Bose SoundLink Speaker
Bose Mini SoundLink

Bose SoundLink Mini Bluetooth Speaker ($199) – I reeeeeeeally want one of these guys, so take note Mom & Dad! This little bad boy goes wherever you do, no plugs, great sound, connects seamlessly via Bluetooth, and the battery plays up to 7 hours. It has 5 star reviews on Amazon. No brainer purchase for a dude or lady.

Juliet Roger Jewelry ($60 – $150) I stumbled upon local Queen Anne jewelry designer Juliet Roger about 5 years ago at a holiday bazaar. Her stuff is just gorgeous and very reasonably priced! I have two pairs of her earrings, both of the styles pictured, and I love them. And I don’t have one of her cocktail rings, but would like to! I have bought the earrings as gifts for friends/family and they’ve been a hit. Total winner.

Folle de Joie Parfum
Folle de Joie

Folle de Joie Perfume ($95)Alright, I’m giving away one of my secrets here, but this is my newest scent and I am obsessed. I have been wearing various Jo Malone scents for awhile now, so this was a really great change of pace with the layers. “The scent opens with a burst of freshness from an intimate blend of calming sweet citrus mixed and a light woodsy floral, giving way to playful hints of rich cognac. Folle De Joie’s mid notes of jasmine and rose add a feeling of summer’s carefree essence while exotic warm base notes of spicy and rich wood and leather nuances broaden the seductive scent.” Yum.

Nordstrom cashmere wrap
Nordstrom Cashmere Wrap

Nordstrom Woven Cashmere Wrap ($176) –  After losing the black cashmere pashmina my mom gave me years ago (yes, I said pashmina, does anyone have those anymore or have they just been rebranded as “wraps” now?), I purchased this in black at the Nordstrom Half Yearly sale. This one is a little weightier than a typical scarf, but I love that. It’s soft, warm, delicious, and big enough that you can also use it as a wrap if you’re wearing a dress.

Amazon Prime Subscription
Amazon Prime Subscription – 1 Year

Amazon Prime 1 Year Subscription ($79)FREE Two-Day Shipping on millions of items, no minimum order size, unlimited instant streaming of thousands of movies and TV shows with Prime Instant Video, a Kindle book to borrow for free each month from the Kindle Owners’ Lending Library. Boom. Done.

Kindle Fire HDX
Kindle Fire HDX

Kindle Fire HDX 16GB with 4G ($329)If we’re talking about Amazon Prime, we might as well talk about a pretty sweet little gadget, the Kindle Fire HDX. I have a Kindle Fire from last year, mine is only Wifi, I wish it was 4G, but I love it. I use it for reading, watching movies on airplanes, and taking to dinner for Oliver’s entertainment. Great purchase, but the one catch is you have to buy/rent your movies on Amazon, either streaming through Prime or downloading via their marketplace.

Netflix GIft Subscription
Netflix GIft Subscription

Netflix 1 Year Streaming Subscription ($95) House of Cards, Orange is the New Black, thousands of other movies and TV shows (I am currently bingeing on Parenthood). Plus the added benefit of lots of great kids shows so you can keep them quiet while you make dinner or actually enjoy a glass of wine. I think $95 is actually ridiculously low for what you get. My Netflix obsession was documented in one of my first posts here.

Frye Toiletry Kit
Frye Leather Travel Kit

Frye  Logan Leather Travel Kit ($178)Spruce up your guy’s travel sitch. This is a gift he would probably never buy himself, but totally enjoy! There are lots of choices out there in various price ranges if you don’t want to spend this much.

Le Creuset Braiser
Le Creuset Braiser

Le Creuset Braiser ($290 for 5-Qt) On sale right now at Williams Sonoma, this is probably my favorite pan, rivaled by my Le Creuset Dutch Oven. Anyone who loves to cook will appreciate this! It is heavy, but I use to make sauces galore, so easy to clean! This is a staple.

Happy Shopping and I think I might do another post about stocking stuffers too, so please send any ideas!

3 thoughts on “Holiday Gift Giving for Normal People

  1. Nelle

    Love this! Todd’s jambox just died, so it’s great to know about the Bose one. A must have for Bbq’s in the summer. I have to say, the braiser is one of my favorite pots as well. I just made an epic moules-frites feast with it and it was perfect.
    For stocking stuffers, I love little treats from DeLaurentis like ameretti cookies, jams, olive packed tuna…. And the for silly stuff, there is Archie McPhee. I hope I never get too old for a stocking!

  2. Pingback: A Few of My Favorite (Kitchen) Things | Here's What Works

Leave a Reply

