5 Good Reads

Ding, ding, ding. Round two of 5 Good Reads is here! As you all know, I certainly enjoy my TV time, but when I go on vacation, the TV is off and my Kindle is on. I turn into a readaholic, devouring 3 or 4 books in a week and I love that feeling where you can’t wait to pick it back up when you have to put it down! I am also trying to be better about calling it quits on a book that I am not enjoying, which I had to do with one of my selections from the Mexico trip, Mary Coin, although very well reviewed by critics, not my bag.

1. The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman – this is on the of the best books I have read in a long, long time. Katie Peterson, thank you for the recommendation! The writing is fantastic, the story hooks you immediately, I couldn’t put it down and you will cry. My mom read it right after I did and loved it as well. I’m not going to bother summarizing the plot, just go read it, it’s that good. But if you insist, the full description at Amazon here.

2. Doctor Sleep – Stephen King – I need to preface by saying I have been reading Stephen King since middle school and I am a huge fan. I loved this book and I totally dig Stephen King as a storyteller. This is his follow up to The Shining, 36 years later, telling the story of adult Danny Torrance, who is now a “flawed middle-aged man with a tragic past — his special gift, ‘shining,’ dulled with age and alcohol. He’s ‘Doctor Sleep’ now, a hospice worker who eases the end of patients’ lives. He also happens to be the only one who can help a little girl with her own special gift. This is not simply The Shining II. Not only does this story stand on its own, it manages to magnify the supernatural quality that first drew us to young Danny, expanding its mystery and its intensity in a way that might even reach beyond this book into the rest of the King-iverse… and beyond.” Full description at Amazon here.

3. 11/22/63 – Stephen King – OK, since we are on the subject of Stephen King, I have to include one of my favorite reads of 2012. This book was just awesome! The gist of this book is “On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? Stephen King’s heart-stoppingly dramatic new novel is about a man who travels back in time to prevent the JFK assassination—a thousand page tour de force.” I mean, who isn’t fascinated by Kennedy’s assassination? I cannot say enough good things about this guy, 4.5 stars on Amazon with 5,000+ reviews. Full description at Amazon here.

4. Me Before You – Jojo Moyes – Thank you for the rec Joanna Beals! This is a sweet love story, a total tearjerker, but not sappy or cookie cutter like a Nicholas Sparks novel. I read it in 24 hours. “A Love Story for this generation, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?” Full description at Amazon here.

5. The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt – My current read and super enjoyable. A tale of an orphan’s survival, “The story begins with an explosion at the Metropolitan Museum that kills narrator Theo Decker’s beloved mother and results in his unlikely possession of a Dutch masterwork called The Goldfinch. Shootouts, gangsters, pillowcases, storage lockers, and the black market for art all play parts in the ensuing life of the painting in Theo’s care.” I am about halfway through, but it is competing with my DVR for attention right now, so it might take me a bit to finish. Full  description at Amazon here.

I love getting referrals on books you’ve loved, so please keep ’em coming!! Happy reading and here is the link to the last 5 good reads.

Related articles

Leave a Reply

