¡Viva México!

Hola! I’m back, yay! We flew in last night and I am still basking in the vacation glow. My house is a mess and there is a huge pile of laundry I am avoiding. It is worth noting that I completely unpacked both of us last night, after getting home from a 10 hour travel day at 10pm. Thanks OCD! You come in real handy some days. I was determined to cook something healthy today and the cold Seattle weather meant one thing – soup. I’m making chicken stock and Tyler Florence’s Chicken Noodle Soup, but other than that, I don’t feel like doing anything.

Oliver and I went with my parents to quite possibly one of my favorite places on earth, Punta de Mita, Mexico, about a 4.5 hour non-stop flight from Seattle. Seriously, if you are looking for a new vacation destination, I cannot say enough good things about this place. The Four Seasons & St. Regis both have hotels about 10 minutes away, so you know it’s a prime location, but the actual town where we stayed is quaint and quiet and undeveloped. Punta de Mita is about an hour outside of Puerto Vallarta, a sleepy little town, and it is absolutely lovely. We rented a huge 3 bedroom condo, all of the amenities, gorgeous pool, right on the beach, it was perfect. You don’t need a car and it is a quick walk on the beach to about 15 restaurants. For only $400/night, it’s a pretty sweet deal, especially compared to somewhere like Hawaii, where you could never get this much for your money and be right on the beach! (Note – my parents treated us to this vacation, I never could have swung this on my own. I’m a lucky, but very appreciative, lady.)

Food – Mexican is my favorite ethnic cuisine, hands down, I never get sick of it. We made a huge grocery store run and got the essentials – tons of fresh fruit, avocados, eggs, tortillas, chips, cerveza, etc – my family definitely likes making breakfast and not eating all of our meals in restaurants. Every morning began with fried eggs on avocado toast or on top of a quesadilla (I am obsessed with Oaxaca cheese, I can only find it there and it is so mild and perfect for quesadillas) with some papaya or mango. Ceviche or fish tacos for lunch with chips and guac/pico. Dinner consisted of fresh fish or or some version of meat/tortillas/guac/beans. And drinks, oh the drinks. I also never seem to get sick of margaritas!

Restaurants

  • Serendipity Restaurant & Mezcaleria
  • Casa Teresa Ristorante Italiano – fantastic Italian, a really nice change of pace
  • Si Senor – my favorite, we ate there twice, traditional Mexican, so good!
  • Rosa Mexicano
  • Blue Shrimp
  • Sufi
  • Sea Breeze (at the St. Regis) – the best red snapper ceviche I have ever eaten
  • Oscar’s (best fish tacos ever!)

Books (full post to come, but here is the list) – I read voraciously when my parents are there to watch Oliver.

  • The Light Between Oceans – ML Steadman (thank you for the rec Katie Peterson, this was one of the best I have read in a long time!)
  • Dr. Sleep – Stephen King
  • Me Before You – Jojo Moyes (thank you Joanna Beals!)
  • Mary Coin – Marisa Silver
  • The Goldfinch – Donna Tartt

Swimming in the warm, clear ocean is one of my happiest joys in the world, nothing is better. Read, eat, swim, relax, REPEAT. That’s what I did for eight glorious days and now I’m back, re-engergized and ready to blog!

Leave a Reply

