Working My Ass Off (or at least that’s the goal)

It’s Saturday morning. One of my favorite times of the week, the key word is “leisure”. There are a few perks to being a single parent, one of them being I get to enjoy from Friday at 4pm until Saturday at 4pm to myself. I got up at 10, enjoyed my coffee and egg and avocado toast, and am currently on the couch luxuriating in  my Parenthood marathon (I know, where have I been. If you’re not watching, start immediately). Normally, I exercise on Saturdays, but I got the day off as class was cancelled and I already got my workouts in this week. So I get to lay here and not feel guilty!

Up until about three years ago, I was a runner. Running was a mixed bag for me, it was never easy, I never found myself in that zone where time just passes and all of a sudden you’ve been running for an hour. But it made me feel so good afterward and the sense of accomplishment was top notch. My running career ended with a torn meniscus and my doctor telling me that my knee cartilage was not suited to running as a main form of exercise. After I had recovered from my surgery, I started going to this little studio by my house, Inspire Pilates & SPX. This was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Working out at Inspire was a pretty big departure for me, I ran at the gym most of the time. My first gym membership was at 24 Hour Fitness over 15 years ago during my San Francisco days and my last membership was the ProClub, a mega gym, and one of my Microsoft perks. Going to the gym was a two hour ordeal with the commuting, workout, showering, etc, so the experience of a boutique studio was new and totally refreshing. At Inspire, the classes were 40 minutes long and I could be door to door in one hour!

SPX is like this souped up Pilates, created by Sebastian Lagree. He turned a Pilates reformer into a Proformer, and the his fitness method “is an innovative workout specifically designed to strengthen, tighten, and tone the body quickly and safely. This workout is largely based on the holistic principles of Pilates, but also emphasizes the strength training and cardio elements not inherent to Pilates to achieve muscle definition faster than traditional Pilates and/or weight training alone.” The 40 minute classes are on the machine, with great music and an instructor leading you through an always changing series of challenging moves.

Rebekah, my amazing instructor, has also brought a Barre class to Inspire, which is 45 minutes of brutal cardio, weights, and her barre workout. It is a complete ass-kicker, one of the hardest workouts I’ve done, but I love it! My winning combo is SPX two days a week and Barre three days a week and I’ve actually been able to keep up this commitment. I regularly get sore, feel strong, my arms have honestly never looked better, but I still have that elusive 5lbs I’d like to lose. I like food and am not willing to stop eating, so I guess I’ll have to live with them.

Overall, my workout routine is working for me! And BONUS – the women I’ve met in my little community at Inspire has been such a blessing. I love you ladies!! There are so many fantastic options for working out these days if you want to get out of the traditional gym experience – CrossFit, Cycling, PIlates, Yoga, Barre, etc. It’s never easy to carve out the time with work or kids or life, but if you can fit it in, it feels fantastic, and it’s not terrible for your ass either.

5 thoughts on “Working My Ass Off (or at least that’s the goal)

  1. Jenny Shoaf

    Totally agree that Inspire is the best thing I’ve ever done for my body – and my social life. I’ve made wonderful friends and feel and look better than I have in a long time, but I think I need to step it up to 3 Barre’s a week to keep up with Lynn, who looks absolutely amazing!

  2. Joanna

    I concur, Lynn! After 20+ years of group exercise classes, I have found the ones that I love best. Rebekah is by far the best instructor that I have ever had. I love Inspire and I, too, love the fun feeling of community that we have there!
    And yes, Jenny: Lynn’s arms are an inspiration, aren’t they? 🙂

  3. Rebekah

    Thanks for the love ladies!! Each and every one of you is an inspiration to me. Your dedication, hard work and insatiable desire to have your asses handed to you on the regular makes my job easy. See you ladies at the barre!

  4. Pingback: Friday Night Plans | Here's What Works

  5. Pingback: How many gym memberships does one person need? | Here's What Works

Leave a Reply

