Hi, My Name is Lynne and I Botox

There. I said it. I’m honestly not ashamed and know plenty of people who do it (and love it) as well. Don’t worry friends, I’m not here to name names, I’ll take one for the team and share for the group of us. Maybe you’re curious about Botox but haven’t tried it. Maybe you love it too and will be happy to know you’re not alone! Maybe you would never, ever do it and think it’s terrible. That’s cool, everyone gets an opinion, but I wanted to share my experience.

I started my foray into Botox last summer. I was seeing my dermatologist for my yearly skin exam (which you all should be doing!) and asked her about Botox. I definitely have some smile lines around my eyes and some deep creases in my forehead that have started to bother me. What I wanted her to say was “Botox? Don’t be crazy! You don’t need Botox at all!”. What I got was her asking me to make a frowny face, smile, lift up my eyebrows – then telling me I could definitely benefit from some there, there and there. OK then.

botox series2
Check out Botox.com for tons of great before/afters.

I said yes on the spot. I started that day with 20 units, on my forehead and around my eyes, in the crows feet area. This cost $350 ($15/unit). It wasn’t painful or scary, just a few pokes and done. It takes about a week to set in and once it did, I didn’t notice it all that much, no huge changes, but I liked it.

For my second round, I went to Calidora in U Village, around 5 months later, where I have been getting facials for awhile. I like them and trust them, plus they were having a sale (they normally charge $15/unit, but the sale was for $12/unit). I upped it to 27 units and again, got the frowny place between my eyes, forehead, and crows feet area, but more. This time, I noticed it and loved it. My forehead was completely smooth and the deep lines were virtually gone. I still had movement and my face did not look frozen at all. The cost was $324.

At that point, I was in. I really liked the way it made me look and feel. Being the savvy shopper I am, I thought I should investigate the best place to get it done for the best price. It’s not cheap, but I also didn’t want to take the risk of doing it on a Groupon and messing up my face. I Googled “best places to Botox in Seattle” and found the Naficy Plastic Surgery & Rejuvenation Center in Bellevue, just a quick jaunt from my office (I Botox on my lunch break, no joke!). They are in the top 1% of Botox injections in the US, and they are able to give you better pricing as a result. If you get 30 units, it is $10/unit. This is the best pricing I’ve seen anywhere, especially in a reputable plastic surgeon’s office.

My friend (who shall remain nameless) and I made a visit together to see Libby, the nurse practicioner, at Dr. Naficy’s and she asked us to make all of the same faces (frowny/smiley/surprised). After talking to Libby about what I wanted to see in my results, I decided on 35 units (above my eyes, frowny area in between my eyes, forehead, crows feet). This was $350 ($10/unit). I have found my magic number and have been so, so happy with my results!

They have a great program, Brilliant Distinctions, that lets you get credit for your Botox injections (and certain facial products) and use this credit towards a discount the next time you come in. From referring my friend and Brilliant distinctions, I paid $300 for my $350 service the last time I went in. I love it. I cannot say enough good things about this place if you are interested in Botox for yourself (and you can obv tell them I sent you so I can get my referral discount!).

I go 3x a year, this is $900. I know it’s a total luxury, but it makes me feel good! I love my smooth forehead! I do this completely for myself and I think anything (within reason, but I guess that’s subjective) to make you feel more beautiful is ok by me.

This is me, 2 weeks post Botox - no makeup
This is me, 2 weeks post Botox – no makeup

BONUS – If you like Dr. Naficy’s FB page https://www.facebook.com/NaficyRejuvenationCenter, you can get a complimentary microdermabrasion session! I just had mine done yesterday and my skin feels smooth and soft!

Here’s to doing what makes you feel good…and smooth, line-free foreheads!

4 thoughts on “Hi, My Name is Lynne and I Botox

Leave a Reply

