Fall TV Check In – What’s Working & What’s Not

It’s been almost a month since I posted on the new fall TV lineup. I have to admit, I am not that impressed with the bevvy of new shows. I’m an equal opportunity watcher. I tried a bunch, some are sticking, but I’m not super excited about a lot of the stuff that’s  on my list. Nothing this year has knocked my socks off (except for Ray Donovan, which just wrapped season 1 on Showtime – MUST WATCH!). I figure that if something I didn’t watch ends up being REALLY good (and doesn’t get cancelled), I can catch it on instant streaming and consume it in my favorite way – bingeing, of course!

What Didn’t Work:Bad Shows

  • Hostages – Toni Collette, I love you, but eat something. You don’t look good skinny. I’d rather see you looking like Muriel Heslop (please, someone, get that reference). And Dylan McDermott, this show is too ridiculous for you to be so stern. The plot: a doctor (Rexy Collette) is supposed to perform surgery on the President and an FBI Agent (McSerious) holds her family hostage unless she kills the President in the surgery. So stupid.
  • Marvel Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D – I watched one episode and liked it. It reminded me of Heroes. I forgot to DVR episode 2 and didn’t really care, not a great sign. This is the only one on this list that I can maaaybe see making it and being good. Like I said, I’m open to bingeing on it if that happens.
  • The Goldbergs – It’s just a regular sit-com that is playing way too hard on the 80’s humor. I just don’t see how that sustains without getting super old.
  • Dads – I CANNOT watch comedies with laugh tracks. No likey. Dads has 2 decent actors (Seth Green and Giovanni Ribisi), but not good enough to keep me interested. I stopped watching after 5 minutes so I have no idea what it’s about, but I assume they are dads (and they have dads). Sorry Nick Lachey, your wife is about to be out of a job.
  • The Michael J. Fox Show – this one, I feel bad about. I WANTED to like it, I gave it 2 episodes, but I just couldn’t do it. The premise is he is a news anchor that had to take a leave for his Parkinsons and is getting back in the game. Look, I think it is GREAT that he is acting and has a show on NBC, but it isn’t good.

What’s Working (So Far):

good shows

  • The Blacklist (NBC) – James Spader is an over-actor and really can only play one role – smarmy. It’s kind of a ridiculous plot, but I’m giving it a chance because I don’t hate it, and because there is nothing else to watch on Monday from 10-11. Good job NBC! You don’t make good TV anymore (other than Parks and Rec), but you got one on my list!
  • The Trophy Wife (ABC) – I like Malin Ackerman, she’s cute and funny. I love Bradley Whitford. The plot? Meh. She’s the 3rd wife of Bradley Whitford, he has 3 kids by his ex-wives. Hijinks ensue. This one could go either way. There is an ex-wife character that is so bad, I almost can’t watch. But it’s working for now.
  • *Brooklyn Nine-Nine (FOX) – Fox is making the best comedies right now (except for Dads). It’s in a super sweet spot, leading into The New Girl and the Mindy Project (funniest show on TV right now).  My favorite comedies all have really good, funny, supporting casts, that’s the winning recipe. Lead by Andy Samberg, this ensemble has great potential and the show has a solid chance of being great.
  • Super Fun Night (ABC) – Better than I thought. Rebel Wilson is obviously a very funny gal, but I don’t know if this will have the legs to survive. I’m on the fence after one episode, but keeping it on the list.
  • *Betrayal (ABC) – this is one of my favorites, totally soapy, kind of Revenge-esque. The chemistry between the two having the affair is pretty hot (Stuart Townsend and Hannah Ware). Good plot, good cast. Sold. Oh, and Henry Thomas is in it! I don’t know why, but I just like that guy. It must be the E.T. effect.
  • *Masters of Sex (SHO) – This is on Showtime, so it’s just super quality TV. Great acting from Michael Sheen and Lizzy Caplan (she is also super hot, I love her! You should totally check out her movie “Save the Date” – adorable). This is the true story of Dr. William Masters and his assistant Virginia Johnson, who study the way the body reacts to sex in the late 50’s and 60’s. (non)Spoiler Alert – there is a lot of sex.
  • Hello Ladies (HBO) – Stephen Merchant, the show’s lead, is really funny. Uncomfortable, but funny non-the-less. He is a gawky Englishman in LA, looking for love. He’s a super smart guy, was a writer for the Office, I think this one is going to be a big hit.

*my favorites

I’d love to know what you’re watching and liking, if I’m missing anything I shouldn’t be, or what you’ve given up on! Hit me up!

One thought on “Fall TV Check In – What’s Working & What’s Not

  1. SusanC

    So, TOTALLY agree with you on Hostages. We tried it and made it almost through the 2nd episode, but it’s stacking up on the Tivo now and that’s not a good sign. With a 5-month old and returning to work, I have about an hour a night to watch TV and unless it’s good enough to trump last night’s Daily Show and Colbert, my Tivo doesn’t have enough room to keep it sitting around for several weeks (because of all of the freakin’ Team Umizoomi, Curious George, and Bubble Guppies we have on there). We also didn’t even end up watching the first Marvel Agents of Blah Blah, so I took that season pass off. I like Trophy Wife, but not more than my regulars like Mindy Project and New Girl, so it’s starting to stack. And same with Brooklyn Nine Nine . There’s something odd about that show I can’t put my finger on. It’s funny, but weird. I want to give it a chance because I love that Andy Samberg is doing something different than D*ck-in-a-Box type of stuff. And, you’re SO right on Dads. That one and Moms (with Anna Faris and Allison Janney) BOTH have laugh tracks and are SOOOOOO dumb. I couldn’t believe that Anna Faris and Allison Janney actually took the jobs to be on that show. They are SO much better than that.

    I’m definitely intrigued by you telling me about Masters of Sex. I will give that one a shot. I’m still two episodes behind on this season of Homeland, though, so it might be awhile before I can get to it. Thank you for taking one for the team and watching all the crap so you can warn me about it and I don’t waste my time. 😉

Leave a Reply

