Entry Level Leather – Faux is the Way To Go

Sometimes I go through periods of obsessing over an item of clothing. Scouring websites, taking trips over to Bellevue Square on my lunch break to hunt for said item. Last year around this time, it was leather pants. I really wanted some leather pants. The only leather pants I found that I liked were way out of my price range. I loved the Vince cropped legging (which were $1150. Um, no) and the Alice and Olivia leather legging (they were $798, but I had JUST gotten my new job). I did the justification self-talk and threw down.  I put them on a few times and just couldn’t wear them. I felt silly.  I live in Seattle, where it rains all the time. As lovely as they were, I’m not rich and they just weren’t practical. At all. They went back and I got myself a nice (and much less expensive) pair of black coated denim Citizens. That seemed to do the trick and gave me my fix, but I made the mistake of putting them in the wash (and hanging to dry) and they just didn’t look the same. Shouldn’t you be able to wash jeans?!?!

I was at Nordstrom last Friday perusing the new Savvy, not looking for anything in particular, just killing time before my haircut, when I stumbled across these little beauties.  My dreams had been realized. They look JUST like leather, but they are faux and more importantly, under $100! BlankNYC Vegan Leather Skinny Pants (really? do they need to be called vegan?). I have a few pairs of BlankNYC denim from last year and like the way they fit, so I gave them a try and they were perfect. The (p)leather pants I had always wanted!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I wore them out that night and didn’t feel silly in the slightest! Somehow knowing they weren’t real made me feel better. Now I just need to learn to keep it to myself when I get a compliment before telling everyone they’re fake.

There is so much good faux leather out there right now. Pants, skirts, tops, jackets. Now you don’t have to make a crazy investment to enjoy the leather trend. Fake it til you make it!

One thought on “Entry Level Leather – Faux is the Way To Go

Leave a Reply

