5 Good Reads

It may come as a huge surprise since I love me some TV, but I also love to read. When I’m on vacation, I don’t watch TV and usually cruise through about 3 books.  Sometimes this mania carries back over into my real life and I get into reading-before-bed mode.  Choosing which books to read is no small undertaking. There is nothing worse than a mediocre book and I’m not a quitter, so I always (skim) finish.

I have a Kindle Fire HD, which is awesome for reading (and watching movies), but not for browsing new books. Scrolling through pages and pages (without even being able to see the description) does not work for me. I like to go explore Amazon on my computer, where I can see recommendations based on the books I like, and more importantly, ratings and reviews. I try to stick to 4+ star books, because why waste my time?

Books

  1. The Storyteller – Jodi Picoult  – this is not your typical Jodi Picoult, I haven’t read anything by her in a few years and this is a complete departure from her other books. The subject matter is not light, it the Holocaust and it is gritty, but a “well-researched and thought-provoking plot”.  The characters are well-written and the book weaves together three stories to make for a super satisfying read.
  2. Life After Life – Kate Atkinson – I read this right after “The Storyteller” and was already in the WWII mindset, so appreciated that this book took a different stab at this awful time, asking the question “What if you could live again and again, until you got it right?” I love Kate Atkinson and have been a fan of her other books, so when the description says “Darkly comic, startlingly poignant, and utterly original — this is Kate Atkinson at her absolute best.” I am SOLD.
  3. The Silent Wife – A.S.A Harrison –  You know the husband dies in the first few pages, you know the wife kills him, you are just dying to know how it all goes down.
  4. And the Mountains Echoed – Khaled Hosseini – “The Kite Runner” and “A Thousand Splendid Suns“, also by Hosseini, are two of the my favorite all time books. Poignant, I think I cried in both, original stories, incredible depth of characters. Now, he “has written a new novel about how we love, how we take care of one another, and how the choices we make resonate through generations.” This is my current read, I invested and loving it.
  5. East of Eden – John Steinbeck – I have to slip a classic in here. Considered “the masterpiece of Steinbeck’s later years”, this is a long one (to me, that’s a bonus, I hate when a good read ends!!), but such a wonderful work, and you’ll get some cred dropping this one at a dinner party and look real scholarly. Written in 1952, this story is about a dysfunctional family, really dysfunctional, but you’ll love it.

6 thoughts on “5 Good Reads

  1. SusanC

    Are you on Goodreads? That’s how I love to find books recently, although I’m not doing much reading, just bookmarking ones to read in the future when I no longer have the attention span of a flea due to small children.

  2. disp4324

    I LOVED reading The Storyteller. Absolutely one of my all time favorites! I am an avid reader and love to get my hands on a good book! A couple of my other favorites (if you want to check them out) are: The Mercy of Thin Air by Ronlyn Dominique and The Distant Hours by Kate Morton

  3. Joanna

    Claire Messud’s, “The Woman Upstairs” is fantastic.
    Another good place for quality book recommendations is powell’s.com.
    Thanks for the recommendations!

  4. Pingback: 5 Good Reads | Here's What Works

Leave a Reply

