Fall’s Here, Soup’s On!

Fall is here and undoubtedly my favorite season. Crisp days, boots, sweaters, TV and comfort food! I am lucky enough to have an awesome nanny for my 3.5 year old who will go to the store for me while he’s at preschool and pick up stuff to make dinner, then have it ready when I get home from work (you can’t hate me too much for that, i’m a single, working mom, ok?!). I do love to cook when I have time and do my bigger cooking projects on Sundays, when I can spend a few hours in the kitchen.

I am also obsessed with kale. I discovered this recipe for Sausage, Cannellini, and Kale Soup last year on Yumsugar and I’ve made it a bunch since then. It’s a real winner and makes for fantastic leftovers. I am big on taking my lunch to work, so I eat it for like 5 meals straight.

IMG_1856

 

Ingredients

  • 1-1/2 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 lb. sweet or hot bulk Italian sausage, broken into bite-sized pieces
  • 1 medium yellow onion, finely chopped (1-1/2 cups)
  • 1 medium carrot, peeled and finely chopped (3/4 cup)
  • 1 medium celery stalk, finely chopped (3/4 cup)
  • 1-1/2 tsp. minced fresh rosemary
  • 2 Tbs. tomato paste
  • 2 large cloves garlic, minced (1 Tbs)
  • 2 quart homemade or lower-salt chicken broth
  • Two 15-oz. cans cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 6 oz. Lacinato kale, center ribs removed, leaves chopped (about 4 firmly packed cups) – here’s where I modify and throw in the bag of TJ’s Kale
  • 1 Parmigiano-Reggiano rind (1×3 inches; optional)
  • 1-1/2 tsp. cider vinegar Kosher
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Heat 1 Tbs. of the oil in a 4- to 5-quart pot over medium heat. Add the sausage, crumbling. Cook until browned about 8 minutes.
  2. Add the onion, carrot, celery, and rosemary and cook, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables begin to soften, about 6 minutes.
  3. Add the tomato paste and garlic and cook until fragrant, 45 seconds. Add the broth, beans, kale, and Parmigiano rind (if using). Bring to a boil, reduce the heat to medium low, and simmer gently until the vegetables are tender, about 15 minutes.
  4. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat. Cook 5 minutes more to meld the flavors. Stir the cider vinegar into the soup and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serves 4.

3 thoughts on “Fall’s Here, Soup’s On!

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Fritters – aka how to get your kid to eat zucchini | Here's What Works

Leave a Reply

